Hey there! My name is Shirley and I live in NYC. Approximately 8.6 million other people live in New York, but many of them aren’t as fortunate as I am. Growing up in a household of 4, my parents had always supplied me with daily necessities, clothing and food, but most importantly provided me a roof over my head. For many of us, we take these things for granted unknowingly because we don’t realize the lavish lives we’re living until
our eyes have sadly become glazed-over to the street-sitting, tattered cardboard signs of the misfortunate. As you can tell, our campaign ‘Homes For Tomorrow’ was designed to help decrease the rate of homelessness in NYC by aiming to build more homeless shelters in our neighborhood. Over the course of many years, the rate of homelessness has skyrocketed immensely, but most organizations has failed to keep it under control, which is why our campaign is so passionate about this issue. We believe that everyone should be provided with a home regardless of their physical/financial stability. It is unacceptable and unfair for thousands of unsheltered people each night to sleep on New York City streets, in subway system, and in other public spaces. If you are an individual who is aware or interested in this social issue, please join our blog and stay tuned for future posts. Let’s fight this battle together.

Leave a comment